Certified by AutoVitals


5 star rating
Carol & D. from Fairbanks, AK on 5/2/2019 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"The brakes on our Pontiac Vibe were making horrible noises so I called Metro early on a Thursday morning to see if there was any chance they could squeeze us in. They said they were booked until early next week but if we could get our car there within the hour they could at least take a look and diagnose the problem. Turned out our brakes were shot and we were hearing metal-on-metal. Metro said they could try to squeeze us in that day. They called again at 4 pm to say the car was done. I'm still in awe. Customer service was outstanding and we're relieved to have brakes again."
5 star rating
Tom And Sandy C. from Fairbanks, AK on 4/30/2019 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Waited at the site for my tires to be switched out for summer. Took under an hour and as usual I was informed about the general state of things about my Camry. Best car maintenance place ever!!"
5 star rating
Jack W. from Fairbanks, AK on 4/6/2019 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"As always Metro Garage accommodated my special service requests with a smile."
5 star rating
Jane S. from Fairbanks, AK on 3/28/2019 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Thanks again for your wonderful service!"
5 star rating
Jonah W. from Fairbanks, AK on 3/27/2019 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"As always I can trust Metro will do quality work and go above and beyond with top notch customer service. I very much appreciate the fact that I can trust Metro will do what is only essential to keep my 3 very aging vehicles happy and running thru the long hard Fairbanks winter. On many occasions I have requested work to possibly be done on one of my 3 cars and Metro will only do the work if and when the work is necessary. This has usually resulted in the final cost being less than I was quoted or expected. Thanks for keeping my aging rigs healthy and alive Metro!"
5 star rating
Scott B. from Fairbanks, AK on 3/27/2019 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"The staff at Metropolitan Garage did an excellent job selecting new summer tires for my sedan and for getting them installed quickly."
5 star rating
George & Candy R. from Fairbanks, AK on 3/13/2019 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Great service - quick and easy!"
5 star rating
Jennifer N. from Fairbanks, AK on 3/13/2019 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Quick convenient professional friendly and very much trusted!"
5 star rating
Stosh S. from Fairbanks, AK on 3/1/2019 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Metropolitan Garage is an outstanding business and the service is second to none! The people there are courteous and helpful! Abby is such an amazing person and she is the best! My families Subaru’s are always taken care of no matter what the challenge may be!"
5 star rating
Nathan & K. from Fairbanks, AK on 2/12/2019 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Always friendly timely and reliable."
5 star rating
Jack W. from Fairbanks, AK on 2/6/2019 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"As always Metropolitan Garage was ready to receive my vehicle for service when they said they would be an I was in and out in less than on hour."
5 star rating
Paul Y. from Fairbanks, AK on 1/31/2019 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Quality work and fast service. Staff is always friendly and explains the repairs on your vehicle. Office is well maintained as is the grounds. Thanks.."
5 star rating
Rebecca D. from Fairbanks, AK on 1/23/2019 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"I appreciate the personal service and communication at Metropolitan. They always take the time to explain exactly what they think is necessary for my car and I've never felt pressured into doing a less-than-necessary repair."
5 star rating
Anonymous from Fairbanks, AK on 1/7/2019 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"As always excellent service. The job gets done right and on time."
5 star rating
Allan H. from Fairbanks, AK on 12/11/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"I’ve been taking my 2004 Honda Civic to Metropolitan and they always do top notch work. I started having electrical issues last year and it was a lengthy process ferreting out the problem. Several possible causes were eliminated one by one (involving several alternators quite a bit of research looking into wiring diagrams & pattern failures a new ELD new computer and many headaches for their technicians). I was dreading that the cause would remain unknown and I would need to buy new wheels but Metro kept on it and finally found the culprit. I can’t thank Metropolitan enough for their persistence and dedication getting to the bottom of the issue! What a great team on the job mahsi’ choo!"
5 star rating
Lg & J. from Fairbanks, AK on 12/10/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Both my husband and I love Metropolitan Garage. We've been going here for over a decade and wouldn't dream of going to another shop. Prompt service great people thorough explanations and I don't ever have to worry that we're being sold work we don't need done."
5 star rating
Jennifer N. from Fairbanks, AK on 12/9/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Metropolitan Garage is the best! Knowledgeable community-oriented friendly and trustworthy service! I appreciate that they also treat me with respect and are patient to explain mechanical issues which is a good learning experience for me. I really like that they also support a lot of community events and organizations. They are really awesome people who care about their customers and the Fairbanks community. Really good value really wonderful people."
5 star rating
Trent from Fairbanks, AK on 12/6/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Friendly and knowledgeable about my Subaru. They know what's needed to keep my car running so it's one less thing on my mind."
5 star rating
Aaron C. from Fairbanks, AK on 11/28/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"These folks are the best. I've been going to them for years and they are wonderful."
5 star rating
William Q. from Fairbanks, AK on 11/20/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Friendly Professional Honest"
5 star rating
Geoff B. from Fairbanks, AK on 11/15/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Always stellar service. They never disappoint"
5 star rating
John S. from Fairbanks, AK on 11/14/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"So glad we have Metropolitan Garage in Fairbanks! Always professional personable knowledgeable and quality service for both of our Toyotas!"
5 star rating
John & Toni Kaufman M. from Fairbanks, AK on 11/13/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Wonderful service.....always!"
5 star rating
Tom And Sandy C. from Fairbanks, AK on 11/10/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"This is the best auto service place ever! I always feel confident that my car is in the hands of highly competent mechanics and the office staff is great. They are very pleasant and unusually knowledgeable about cars. I appreciate that they check with me before carrying out any services or repairs we hadn't discussed. I've been going to Metro for about 5 years and I wish I had known about them before that. Better than anyplace else I've taken vehicles!"
5 star rating
Angie & Kevin H. from Fairbanks, AK on 11/3/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"I finally found a good honest shop to do all the work on my old T-100 and my not as old Rav4. Thank you for all your good work. I always refer you to all my family and friends."
5 star rating
Paul from Fairbanks, AK on 11/2/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"I wanted to extend my thanks again for the great service I received when I brought my truck in for repair. The staff I spoke to on the phone were friendly and helpful. There ended up being a miscommunication about my truck being brought in for a repair vs. diagnostic (may have been on my part when I made the appointment) but your staff handled it very well and ultimately they were able to still get my truck fixed and ready for me when I got off work. The measure of customer service that matters most in my opinion is not just when all is going well but when there is a hiccup. I was very impressed. I wanted you to know how much I value having a shop where I can bring our vehicles where the repairs have been always done with excellence they are affordable and completed in a timely manner. In a world where people are often skeptical of mechanic shops Metro has my full trust and confidence."
5 star rating
Margo K. from Fairbanks, AK on 10/30/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Thanks very much!"
5 star rating
Stosh S. from Fairbanks, AK on 10/25/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Everyone at Metropolitan Garage are the best! Professional and the service is personal and respectful. They are there for you the customer and they want and will fix your vehicle correctly. We appreciate them so very much."
5 star rating
Stu And Maureen A. from Fairbanks, AK on 10/23/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Where do we start?? We have had ALL our vehicles serviced by Steve and his Crew since he ran his humble shop up in the hills above Fairbanks. Whether it was our beloved Subies our ancient Motor Home or our orphaned SAAB Steve showed the love care and conscientious service that should be a model for ANY business. 2 people we all want a ""personal"" relationship with: our doctor and our auto mechanic. Steve's ""fender-side"" manner fills the Bill in spades. Thank you Steve and Abbie for years of wonderful attention and service."
5 star rating
Chris H. from Fairbanks, AK on 10/20/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Staff went above and beyond on the repair of my Toyota Tundra."
5 star rating
Tamara H. from Fairbanks, AK on 10/19/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"I only have Metropolitan Garage take care of my Honda CRV since I purchased it in 2012 Steve suggested new winter and summer tire for my Honda and they are perfect for where I live and traveling to Central in the summer. The staff is very helpful too."
5 star rating
Jennifer from Fairbanks, AK on 10/17/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Simply the best the most ethical and excellent around. Hard to believe I love a garage but I do."
5 star rating
Carol from Fairbanks, AK on 10/11/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Great service. Ethical people. Love Metro!"
5 star rating
Christine from Fairbanks, AK on 9/5/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Steve and the gang at Metro Motors are rock stars! They used to keep my 23 year old SUV alive and runing and now they take good care of my 2014 Subaru Outback. The front intake staff are always smiling and very knowledgeable about all things. I would never trust any other garage to take care of any vehicle I owned. I would highly recommend Metro Motors. Thanks guys and gals!"
5 star rating
Wayne & Carolyn G. from Fairbanks, AK on 8/31/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Always great service with the nicest and friendliest staff - the best in Fairbanks!"
5 star rating
Samantha R. from Fairbanks, AK on 8/17/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"As a single woman I was always apprehensive about taking my car in to the mechanics. I just never knew if I was being treated fairly. That's not the case at Metro. The staff treats everyone with such respect and friendliness and I know the mechanics are experts when it comes to my decrepit Honda. I really appreciate Metropolitan Garage's fair prices transparency and overall integrity."
5 star rating
Kathleen L. from Fairbanks, AK on 8/16/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"We live 100 miles out of town and they went out of their way to make sure that our vehicle was finished before closing so that we could make it home even though it was a major job. The work was also less expensive than we expected and they had all the parts in stock at their shop. I would definitely recommend them to anyone that needs work on a Subaru Toyota or Honda. I am thankful to the friend that recommended Metropolitan Garage."
5 star rating
Christine L. from Fairbanks, AK on 8/15/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Great team over there! Got me in and out on schedule and my Subaru is ready for the road!"
5 star rating
J&d from Fairbanks, AK on 8/10/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Excellent service and crew. The Metro gang does great work and is there when you need them. Super cool shop!"
5 star rating
Laura M. from Fairbanks, AK on 8/10/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Metro Garage is always a great place to take any of our cars. It's so easy to schedule I do love the email and/or text option. Plus I love how efficient and honest they are about what needs to get done to the vehicle. What I really like is it's a good experience every time. I couldn't say that about where I used to go frustrating was the operative word there. I can't say enough how much I would recommend them!"
5 star rating
Jack W. from Fairbanks, AK on 8/9/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Friendly professional service done right."
5 star rating
Trent from Fairbanks, AK on 8/8/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Honest. Knowledgeable. Treats customers with respect. They do good work and stand behind what they do. They've been my mechanic for several years. And I'd recommend them to anyone seeking service for their Subaru."
5 star rating
Hugh R. from Fairbanks, AK on 8/7/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Always very professional thorough honest and fair. Bravo!!"
5 star rating
Walker W. from Fairbanks, AK on 4/5/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"They did great work on my Toyota Tacoma. I always felt informed and the process and they like to not keep vehicles overnight so the work is almost always finished on the first day."
5 star rating
Gina S. from Fairbanks, AK on 2/16/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Awesome honest mechanic. They get repairs done quickly and thoroughly explain everything. I wouldn't bring my car anywhere else!"
5 star rating
Matthew M. from Fairbanks, AK on 1/17/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Great customer service"
5 star rating
Austin G. from Fairbanks, AK on 1/15/2018 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Best family I have ever worked for. Personal caring practical patient fair and courteous. They have given me the opportunity to succeed have challenged me to be an ever better technician and worked with me when I presented questions. I can happily work knowing Steve wants the absolute best for the customer and isn't out to 'just make a buck' and he is fair & honest to a fault. Having previously been at 5 other jobs spread across Alaska over 9 years I can fully recommend Metropolitan Garage to friends family and my mother. This is the best shop in Fairbanks in my opinion. Word of caution: If you try them out you may never go anywhere else. They are that awesome."
5 star rating
Robby W. from Fairbanks, AK on 12/21/2017 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Metro is my new go to shop in Fairbanks. They did amazing work on my 4runner and I got my vehicle back the same day! If it wasn't for metro I'd be out of a vehicle until after the holidays. Very very honest group of people with great prices."
5 star rating
Dawn M. from Fairbanks, AK on 12/6/2017 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"What a breath of fresh air! After getting the run around at another garage and nothing was fixed I cannot say enough good things about Metropolitan Garage! They were prompt fixed the problem (on the first trip) and were very professional. The ladies at the front desk were friendly and such a pleasure to work with. I will never take my vehicle to anyone else!"
5 star rating
Joshua M. from Fairbanks, AK on 11/15/2017 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Sometimes it's scary owning a vehicle that is almost as old as I am. When my 95 4Runner began having a rough idle and startup issues I was sent towards Metro to get the truck looked at. I was assured they would diagnose the issues offer quick service and do it with a fair price. I didn't think they could do even better than my assurances. My vehicle issues were meticulously diagnosed (I received an extensive vehicle review after pick up) and the service was very prompt as I... received a phone call mid-day to talk about choices and offered price points for each. Upon deciding which route to take my vehicle was ready for pickup early the following morning. The price was beyond reasonable and with how great my vehicle is running now I would have paid double. Thank you Metro for allowing me to own an older vehicle and not worry about reliability. You guys rock."
5 star rating
William H. from Fairbanks, AK on 10/31/2017 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"The service is always terrific and prompt. They always give detailed easy to understand updates. Very friendly staff. Car is always fixed and in good order each time it gets a tune up or job done. I am very pleased to have these guys in town!"
5 star rating
Travis E. from Fairbanks, AK on 10/5/2017 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Fast friendly and honest."
5 star rating
Gwenetta D. from Fairbanks, AK on 7/18/2017 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"I really appreciated Metropolitan Garage's employees' service today. They diagnosed my 2003 Subaru's issue in a matter of minutes & provided information if the issue were to arise again. The office's interior was clean & bright. The business was a very pleasant place. I'd even enjoy working there myself! I liked the environment the ambiance & the folks working there."
5 star rating
Patty M. from Fairbanks, AK on 7/9/2017 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"I have used them for several years.  They have always been friendly and very professional courteous and the car runs great!  I am thinking of buying a different car and have limited my possible purchases to subaru toyota and honda because I want Metro to work on it.  They keep very good records and tell me when things need to get replaced or when we are just ""monitoring"" various parts of my very old subaru legacy.  One example I can remember is when my brakes were getting worn.  They gave me a 5 part rating and said new brakes would be a 5 my brakes were at a 3 and they should be replaced at some other number (2?) I cannot remember.  What I Do remember is that they explained it well and reminded me when it was time.  The gals behind the service counter really know automobiles too and seem very happy in their work which makes it pleasant to go in there.  Also there is a nice little area where you can wait and connect to wifi Lately the owner has begun to tell me it is time to start thinking of getting a different car instead of just repairing this one.  Of course it might be in his best interest to keep repairing this piece by piece but he has MY best interest in mind.  I find them to have very high ethical standards."
5 star rating
Stephen C. from Fairbanks, AK on 6/18/2017 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Honest and excellent quality. Very highly recommended"
5 star rating
Marc O. from Fairbanks, AK on 5/4/2017 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"The Best Subaru Shop in Town. And Steve is super nice."
5 star rating
Nick C. from Fairbanks, AK on 5/4/2017 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"I have a beat up Subaru that I'm taking on a long road trip to Idaho and back but in general its at the point where I don't like to put too much money into it. Metro Garage was very helpful in letting me know which items needed immediate fixing and which ones could remain broken for the time being. They they did the work quickly and got it to me in time for my long road trip and it came in under what they quoted me!"
5 star rating
Bobo B. from Fairbanks, AK on 4/20/2017 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Best automotive garage ever! I've had cars and trucks worked on all over the US and while on a summer trip stopped in and had some major repairs done even without a prior appointment. Excellent people and excellent work. I wish all businesses could run with as much integrity. I'll be using Metro garage every summer that I return to Fairbanks."
5 star rating
Sara M. from Fairbanks, AK on 1/11/2017 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Took my car in to get a bunch of work done. They did a great job and communicated with me the whole time."
5 star rating
Christina C. from Fairbanks, AK on 1/6/2017 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"I originally reviewed at 4 stars and I'm updating this to 5 because the previous issue (feeling like I was being talked down to) has not been the case since that one time. I've been going to Metropolitan now for a few years and I value their honesty. I drive an old high mileage Subaru and I want to keep driving it for as long as possible. They understand that I am also on a budget and when something is starting to need a repair they let me know whether it is an urgent safety issue or something to keep an eye on. For instance the last several times I've been in they've said let's keep an eye on those brake pads. You don't need to replace them yet but be sure to pay attention because they will need replacing soon. They don't push me to get repairs done prematurely. This week I had my fuel pump go out. I initially scheduled an appointment with Metro but then chose to try to replace it myself. When I called with a question about the fuel pump Jill took the time to research the problem I was having and help me out and she knew that I had cancelled my appointment with them for that same repair. I like to do some of my own car repair work occasionally to save money and because I think it is fun to learn about car repair. I have a working fuel pump now and Metropolitan has my business in the future and my recommendations to anyone with a Subaru. I take all the repairs I don't do myself to them (even oil changes). They don't make me feel bad for trying to do some of the work myself. Great customer service I'm treated with respect. Every repair and oil change I've had done at Metro has been as quoted and has resolved the problem. They respect that I am on a budget and also help me learn more about how to fix my car myself for the times that I want to. Thank you!"
5 star rating
John G. from Fairbanks, AK on 12/3/2016 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"I am only sorry that five stars are all I can award the excellent staff and faculty at Metropolitan Garage."
5 star rating
John M. from Fairbanks, AK on 5/8/2016 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"As an old friend of the family I admit I'm biased. But I've also been a customer and I can vouch for the integrity of Steve and Rebecca and Metro Garage. These good folks will do their best for their customers their employees and their community. These guys conduct themselves with the highest integrity. I give them my unreserved full endorsement and wouldn't take my car any where else."
5 star rating
Linda D. from Fairbanks, AK on 3/5/2016 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"The repair clinic was really neat. I had no expectations but came away with a better understanding of volt meters and circuitry AND a working vacuum. Also a good opportunity to support the Folk School. Thanks!"
5 star rating
Lovis A. from Fairbanks, AK on 2/2/2016 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Metro provides great customer service and clearly explains what they find so that the average person can understand. They offer great and timely service."
5 star rating
Laurel G. from Fairbanks, AK on 8/8/2014 for an auto service and their testimonial is:
"Fantastic customer service and solid work!"

auto repairWe are a Digital Shop

Our technicians use the latest technology to not only tell you if there are any issues with your vehicle, but show you. If we uncover an issue the photo will be e-mailed to you for your records. At the end of every visit you will receive a detailed report regarding the general health of your vehicle. Our #1 goal is to keep you safe on the road.